Anchor in the present

This morning I woke up like I slept for a long time. I was confused. I woke up wishing for past events repeat again, hoping for future events that are in my mind will happen.

The “here and now” tells us about mindfulness, the awareness of the present moment. The past and future distractions make me feel like I am pulled from two ropes in opposite directions, like I am thinning, spread too much, and to regain the center I need an anchor in the present to let go the past-rope and the future-rope. Sometimes it is not easy.

Today my anchor was… the shower! Simple, isn’t it? Nothing better than pay attention to clean carefully the body. Actually I use it often as anchor.

Do you have any special present-anchor?

Leave a Reply

